Tribal Council

The mission of the Tribal Government is to exercise governmental authority to promote economic and social development, advocate and secure tribal rights, to secure tribal lands, to enhance educational opportunities and to protect traditional cultural values with a unified voice on behalf of its tribal members.

The Tribal Council members are the governmental leadership of the Gwichyaa Gwich’in Tribe. The Tribal Council consists of seven (7) members and is elected by a majority of the tribal voters.

Seat A: First ChiefNancy James                   Term 2018 – 2021
Seat B: Second ChiefMichael S. Peter      Term 2016 – 2019
Seat C: MemberCarol Shewfelt                   Term 2017 – 2020
Seat D: Member – Dacho Alexander              Term 2016 – 2018
Seat E: MemberGerald Alexander              Term 2018 – 2021
Seat F: MemberMary Beth Solomon         Term 2016 – 2019
Seat G: MemberCharlotte Spencer            Term 2018 – 2021


Traditional Chief: Steve Ginnis